THE ROSE IN SHARON

Yesterday, I lost a sister… I don’t think it’s right to call her a friend, because she meant more to me. When I first started this blog, Sharon would call me to pray with me, encourage me and tell me what I was doing was a good thing! She was an amazing person and will forever be in my heart!
I didn’t get to spend much time with her because of the age difference and the fact that she was always a few steps ahead of me in life! But we share a few memories!
When I first got to high school in JS1, she was in SS3! And that always worked to my favor. We aren’t related by blood but she cared for me the same way she did her younger sisters who were in our school too.
My favorite memory of Sharon is of one Friday in school when we had ‘labor’! For my foreign readers and those who attended day school, labor was a weekly school activity that required the students to clean the school environment. There was always a labor prefect to supervise along with other prefects and SS3 students.
Obviously, this was nobody’s favorite activity! And at the top of the list of people who hated it were Freda and Mofi (Sharon’s Sister and my best friend). Mofi and I would say almost anything to get out of labor, and that Friday, Sharon decided to break the rules for us. So we were dodging labor in Sharon’s room. It was almost the end of the term so we were all very broke but Sharon had 200 Naira and that was her last! She gave it to us and asked us to go to the bakery and buy bread… in her words, “We can manage it for the next few days”… I don’t remember clearly where Sharon went but by the time she came back, Mofi and I had consumed a whole loaf of bread… EACH!!
When Sharon came into the room she had this really shocked look on her face… we had braced ourselves for the shouting, but she turned it into a joke and started calling us ‘bread’! Today, I’ve got high school teachers that still call me ‘bread’!
I don’t think I’ve ever seen Sharon angry to the extent of yelling! She was so peaceful and cheerful and loving. There truly was a “ROSE” in Sharon!
It’s sad that her life was so brief but I’m convinced she’s in a better place! What saddens me most is the fact that I never got to tell her how dear she was to me… I guess that will have to wait till we meet in heaven!

photo

Many times, we don’t get to appreciate the people around us for the love they’ve shown us! I’ve learnt my lesson and I refuse to lose people before they know their importance. We have no idea how far nice, comforting words can go. Sharon knew I loved her… I just wish I said it more!
Don’t let the people in your life die or walk away without knowing they were loved! Say “I LOVE YOU” a little more often!

Please leave comments and condolences for the Arowolo Family and remember to add them in your prayers!
God bless you, and thank you for reading.
@El_freedah

8 responses to “THE ROSE IN SHARON

  1. Hmmmm, I feel your pain, especially when you loose someone so dear and never had enough time to tell them how much they meant to you. Sometimes I wish we had our final moments with them extended so we could truly express how they made us feel. Good news is, we’ll have all the time in Heaven. My deepest condolences to your friend and her family. May God console everyone of them.

  2. Loosing someone is never sweet. Had my own experiences and most times we want to start asking questions like why and all. All we can do is to trust that God knows d best, and trust in his wisdom. Besides pray for those who are close to you. Sorry for your loss. God bless you

  3. Thank you for this reminder to always let the people in our lives know they are loved and appreciated. I love and appreciate u. I trust our God, He won’t leave the Arowolos without comfort.

  4. We thank God for the life Sharon lived on earth. She left a good print on hearts. The Love & kindness we give others is what gives us a reward before God in heaven. Accept our condolence Freda & help extend it to the Arowolo’s family. This is an encouraging piece Freda. It is time to express His love more. Lets go do it. I love you so much Freda!

  5. Its unfortunate that the world should lose such a wonderful person like Sharon at such a young age. Truth is Sharon was one of the most peaceful people I’ve ever known. One of the few people who could balance being gentle without compromise, and her attitude held no grudges. Its just…. I’m at a loss for words. Like you said Freda, we can all derive comfort from the fact that she’s in a better place now.

    I guess we should all love without boundaries and make sure we express such love as well. I love you Freda.

  6. Wao!!! Dis is beyond a shocking news,openning dis blog to be bless as usual ws kind of d opposite,after knowin d death of Sharon, she is indeed a ROSE. She was one of my best prefects back in high scul n her memo shal 4evr remain in our harts. May ur soul rest in peace sharon.love you.

  7. Admiring the commitment you put into your website and
    in depth information you provide. It’s nice to come across a
    blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out
    of date rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve saved your
    site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

