THE BRUNETTE EVANGELIST 2 ~ FEMI FADIYA

So sorry this took so long to be posted! School has been overwhelming! Here’s the part Two of “THE BRUNETTE EVANGELIST”. Enjoy!

     I hope I left you anticipating the end of the gist… Well, here it is. I got on the first bus that came my way, and my target was just sitting there. A pretty young lady I must say, obviously going back home from school. It couldn’t be a coincidence, she was the one. So I sat beside her, settled down, breathed a little prayer in my heart for confidence, and then paused my music.Trying to start up a conversation without looking too creepy, I asked the basic questions of where she schools, course, year, level and all that and to my utter surprise she’s agnostic (a person who claims neither faith nor disbelief in God). So I began to preach the gospel to her and she seemed to know the basic things about what I was saying, admitting she was a Sunday school teacher before. Being a history major,she began to challenge me with the validity of different religions, the fallibility of scripture and the cruelty of the cross. I was calm; I smiled a lot and with the little theology I know, mixed with the joy of sharing the gospel, I slowly explained the good news that the gospel is. She was silent for a while, and I could tell from her expression that she was looking for arguments to combat me with again: she couldn’t find any. I passed her the last tract, asked if she had any prayer point, which she gladly made known to me. She didn’t convert and I couldn’t be bothered about that because it’s the work of the Holy Spirit to convict. She expressed her frustration at how Christians professed one thing but lived another, and that cut me to the heart. Well, we had a great conversation; we alighted at the same place and said goodbye.

 

Two points from this long story; we have been given the privilege of sharing the gospel and partnering with God in his mission to reconcile humanity to himself.  2 Corinthians 5:20 says that “we are ambassadors of Christ, as though God were pleading through us: we implore you on Christ’s behalf, be reconciled to God.” The hearts of men are ready; God yearns to save people as they hear the gospel and He’s inviting us to be the means by which they do but sadly so many of us are too busy to think of that. God wants his passion to be our passion. The opportunities are wide open; everywhere before us; on the bus, in school; at work; wherever. Who would’ve thought that my brown hair and spending extra cash would lead to somebody hearing the gospel afresh? The time is NOW!!! If you won’t take it from me, at least take it from Jesus who said in Matthew 9:37 that “the harvest is RIPE, but the laborers are few.”

Secondly, the reason why a lot of people don’t want to embrace the gospel is because we as Christians do not live the life we are called to live. The world is watching us and they do not want to be part of the hypocrisy we are engaged in, they want the real thing. They want to see a bunch of people whose lives’ have been radically changed by the very same gospel we preach, and that is HOW they will be drawn to the light of Christ. 

Thank You.

Leave a Reply

