DO I REALLY HAVE ISSUES?

I had a truly horrific day. The highlight of my day was lunch…. In school! Yeah, It was that bad! Anyway! I woke up pretty early for church, had a bath while blasting my music and feeling super jolly in my “purrrty dress”! I had no idea at the end of the day I’d feel so terrible! It was first Sunday back at school and church was awesome! After service I got back to dorm, changed to casual clothes and headed to the cafeteria for lunch :D. I had just seen some of my friends for the first time since resumption so we exchanged pleasantries, talked a little and went our separate ways. After lunch I headed back to dorm to sleep. Obviously this half of my day was good, I haven’t gotten to the upsetting part yet.

 

I had a minor issue with a friend that caused a huge pain in my heart… (It’s too personal to share) but I felt really bad! As if that wasn’t bad enough, my phone kept hooking and saying “sim card rejected” and if you know me at all, you’ll know I’m addicted to my phone (not proud). All day I tried downloading an e-book for one of my courses and it was taking so long then at 99% it would stop and say “insufficient network coverage”… at 99% percent oh! *Sigh* At this point you can imagine my frustration! I just wanted to cry and go home to my mummy!

 

I lay down on my bed, almost crying. I know these issues are tiny! If they had happened at different times, I probably wouldn’t have felt the impact but they all happened at once! It seemed like everything else would soon go wrong. At this point anything anyone said wasn’t funny. I kept restarting my phone, trying to calm my friend down, restarting the download all to no avail. So I lay down, took many deep breaths and started to think. There are people who had a worse day than me, people who live under bridges and have to wake up early to sell stuff on the street and suffer everyday of their life! Girls that are being raped and are carrying a bastard in them or lost their fathers… people who do not have enough money to go to school or even pay for a meal! There are people who have a lot less than I do and they still survive without making a fuss about it! So why was I acting spoilt instead of being grateful for what I have? At least I’m being educated so what if the Wi-Fi is bad? At least I have a phone some people can’t afford nokia 3310! At least I have friends to fight with; fights will just make us stronger!

Your life may not be perfect but its definitely better than someone else’, instead of fussing try to help someone, build someone, encourage someone!!! Where you are isn’t where you want to be but it cannot be where you used to be. Spend everyday on earth like it’s your last continually thanking God for his faithfulness because indeed he has been faithful! 

FREDA ADDO

twitter @el_freedah

12 responses to “DO I REALLY HAVE ISSUES?

  1. It’s true that one should always be grateful but sometimes life throws so many things at us, we forget to stop, think and thank God. It may even feel like you’re the only one that has issues. Life could be quite frustrating though but the best thing is just to keep believing and holding on to God.

  2. This is very encouraging to read, love the way you made a negative into a positive thought! This is one of the many reasons why i love my Freda!

  3. Beautiful! There are days like that sweetheart and I’m proud you ended it up so well and so true. You don’t know why the wi-fi took a lot of your attention away, it just meant have saved you from something else that would have destroyed you or caused serious damage. In all things give thanks cos all things work together for good to them that love God and are called according to his purpose.

  4. in all things give thanks. If only we can look beyond our present predicarments I sure bet we will understand why those things happen. good work Lady Freeda

  5. Sometimes though times lingers but the irony is amist the pain there’s alwys something to be thankful for, alwys!!!!
    It is important to every now and then sit and reflect on the good things GOD has done for us, there must be some atleast …………count your blessings

  6. The heart of gratitude is a great asset that keeps you going even in terrible times when there seems to be nothing that warrants gratitude for, but it helps us take note of the supposedly little things that aren’t little after all. you can smile through pressure and a heart of gratitude makes the hard times pass faster coz it keeps u in a good state of mind and helps u think productively, and u can hear God easily when u r that way rather than when u r in panic, ungrateful and overwhelmed by the problem faced. God knew the value of a grateful heart and so said in all things give thanks coz its his will for us to do so. Thanks Freda. may we continually have a grateful heart no matter what and take note of the blessings we have and sometimes/most timed overlook, God is forever faithful

  7. The heart of gratitude is a great asset that keeps you going even in terrible times when there seems to be nothing that warrants gratitude for, but it helps us take note of the supposedly little things that aren’t little after all. you can smile through pressure and a heart of gratitude makes the hard times pass faster coz it keeps u in a good state of mind and helps u think productively, and u can hear God easily when u r that way rather than when u r in panic, ungrateful and overwhelmed by the problem faced. God knew the value of a grateful heart and so said in all things give thanks coz its his will for us to do so. Thanks Freda. may we continually have a grateful heart no matter what and take note of the blessings we have and sometimes/most timed overlook, God is forever faithful

  8. Wow!!!! I’m indeed very speechless ryt nw!!!! Weldone dearie! Aint it a priviledge that I knw dis blessed being!! Nyc write up

Leave a Reply

